Shelton's Re-Opening of Schools: Sub-Committees

Re-Opening of Schools: Sub-Committees

We are looking for community members, staff, students, and parents to join our Re-Opening of Schools Sub-Committees
Posted on 05/22/2020
SSD LogoDear Staff and Community Leaders:

I hope this letter finds you safe and in good health.

I would like to invite you as staff and community leaders to participate on a sub-committee that will begin the important process to prepare for the re-opening of our schools, whenever that may be.

Closing our schools on March 13, 2020 was difficult but the re-institution of our school system will require collaboration of the highest magnitude and the creative and innovative thoughts and ideas of staff and community leaders such as you.

The sub-committees are:

Student, Staff and Family Social/Emotional Needs and Support
Sub-Committee Leaders:
Maryann Marshall: mmarshall@sheltonschools.org
Susie Wirzbicki: SHWirzbicki@sheltonschools.org



Remote Learning/Traditional Model – Instruction
Sub-Committee Leader:
Kelly Neely: kneely@sheltonschools.org


Operations, Transportation, Nutrition
Sub-Committee Leader:
Brenda Trogstad: btrogstad@sheltonschools.org


Policy Review and Reform to Accommodate a Transitional Model of Education
Sub-Committee Leaders:
School Board representative, Alex Apostle: aapostle@sheltonschools.org

Safety and Security Issues – student/staff protection against the virus, protocol for sanitizing and disinfecting school buildings, systems to deal with the re-emergence of the virus
Sub-Committee Leaders:
Karen DeWitt: kdewitt@sheltonschools.org
Robert Herron: rherron@sheltonschools.org

Sports/Co-Curricular PK-12 Program
Sub-Committee Leaders:
Trevor Leopold: tleopold@sheltonschools.org
Mark Smith: msmith@sheltonschools.org

Communications/Public Relations
Sub-Committee Leader:
Katie Diamond: kdiamond@sheltonschools.org

These sub-committees will be essential to ensure a productive, safe and smooth transition of our schools regardless of the parameters set forth by our Governor, the State Superintendent, and of course our school board. If you are interested in taking part of a sub-committee, please email the sub-committee leader.

Your participation in this endeavor is of paramount importance. The Shelton School District will not only deal with the challenges involved, but will also seek every opportunity to offer the very best educational experience for all students when school begins again.

Sincerely,

Alex Apostle
 
  • 700 S. First St., Shelton, WA 98584
  • p: 360-426-1687
  • f: 360-427-8610

The Shelton School District does not discriminate in any programs or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following employee has been designated to handle questions and complaints of alleged discrimination: Linda Arnold, Director of Human Resources. 360-426-1687. 700 S. 1st Street; Shelton, WA 98584. Complaint procedure can be found on this website under Board Policy #3210 (students) and #5010 (employees).

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.