Shelton's Q & A

2020-21 School Year Q & A

We recognize that there are many questions about the upcoming school year and we are working hard to provide answers. More information (including detailed online learning plans, professional development for our staff, and supports for our students, families, and staff) will be shared in the coming weeks as we continue to finalize our plans.

We will keep this page updated as we receive additional questions and answers.


How will we support families with no internet access?
We recognize that some families have limited or no access to the internet. We will be contacting each family to identify internet needs and will work with families on a case-by-case basis to provide a solution. The district is looking into providing individual hotspots for families to borrow.

Will we provide Chromebooks?
Chromebooks will be provided by the district. Internet access is needed for online learning. We will continue to work with families to support internet access.

If you need a Chromebook, please email chromebooks@sheltonschools.org.

How will this online model be different than last spring?
We will be using curriculum provided by K12. It will include online lessons, live lessons, grading, daily attendance, and schedules for both staff and students. Instruction, staff contact hours, and expectations will be consistent across all grade levels and schools.

What is K12?
K12 is a company that is dedicated to online learning. Our staff will use curriculum supplied by K12.

How will we support families that have parents who work full-time?
The school district will work with families and students on a case-by-case basis to address any challenges or special circumstances.

Parents and guardians will also have access to online guidance and materials including evening hours for support.

Will there be paper packets?
We are working on a solution to address instruction for families who have no internet access. This could include packets. All students will have instruction regardless of internet connectivity.

Will we provide childcare?
Unfortunately, no. We are not licensed as a childcare provider.

How will athletics work?
Currently, we are planning to offer participation in athletics according to WIAA regulations and scheduling.

What about activities and clubs?
District facilities will be closed to school events, activities, and in-person meetings, per the SSD Re-Opening of Schools plan.

Will we provide meals for children?
Yes. We will continue to work closely with OSPI and the USDA to provide meals for children this fall. It will include grab and go meals similar to last spring.

When will we move to Stage B or C?
The decision to move stages will be based on COVID data and support from our local health jurisdiction and School Board. SSD will review the current conditions and the ability to move to a different stage at least twice a month.

Will students have set schedules on school days?
Grades K-8 will have set schedules for live instruction but some of their day may remain flexible.
High school students will have set schedules. There may be some flexibility for completing assignments.
More details will be forthcoming in the next couple of weeks.

Will testing be waived again?
The state has indicated that they are applying for a waiver. We are waiting for guidance from OSPI for more details.

How many classes will high school students take?
We are currently planning to offer 5 classes for high school students.

Who can I contact for questions?

BDX: Principal, Hannah Hoff - hhoff@sheltonschools.org
EVG: Principal, Amber Targus - atargus@sheltonschools.org
MTV: Principal, Mary Johnson - mjohnson@sheltonschools.org
OMS: Principal, Chelsea Cornwall-Brady - ccornwall-brady@sheltonschools.org
OBJH: Principal, Mario Juves - mjuves@sheltonschools.org
SHS: Principal, Bruce Kipper - bkipper@sheltonschools.org
CHOICE: Principal, Stacey Anderson - sanderson@sheltonschools.org
Cedar HS: Principal, Stacey Anderson - sanderson@sheltonschools.org
Executive Director of Instructional Programs PK-12: Maryann Marshall - mmarshall@sheltonschools.org 
Special Education: Jenny LaFranier - jlafranier@sheltonschools.org
Curriculum & Instruction: Kelly Neely - kneely@sheltonschools.org
Athletics: Trevor Leopold - tleopold@sheltonschools.org or Mark Smith - msmith@sheltonschools.org

Para asistencia en Español por favor contacte a su enlace familiar de su escuela.
BDX: Wendy Lankelis - (360) 545-7310
EVG: Lucrecia Hernandez - (360) 463-4393
MTV: Ivette Salamanca - (360) 545-7136
OMS: Cleiry Zacarias - (360) 280-3539
OBJH: Maria Vazquez Soto - (360) 545-2189
CHOICE/Cedar: Betty Uriostegui - (360) 490-1235
SHS: Bill Hutchinson - (360) 463-3530
Servicios para Migrantes: Gabriela Garcia - (360) 490-8316

 
  • 700 S. First St., Shelton, WA 98584
  • p: 360-426-1687
  • f: 360-427-8610

The Shelton School District does not discriminate in any programs or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following employee has been designated to handle questions and complaints of alleged discrimination: Terry Meisenburg, Director of Human Resources. 360-426-1687. 700 S. 1st Street; Shelton, WA 98584. Complaint procedure can be found on this website under Board Policy #3210 (students) and #5010 (employees).

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.